Nominations for the 2021 Wood Protection Association (WPA) Awards are now open. The WPA Awards celebrate excellence, innovation and outstanding service in the production, supply, and use of treated wood.

The 2021 WPA Awards programme is backed by some of the biggest names of the wood protection industry with Koppers, Wolman, Impra and Lonza signing up to be main sponsors. Main sponsors fund the entire Awards programme from its launch through to the active promotion of the winners. “It is really encouraging to know that the major preservative manufacturers share our enthusiasm to make the 2021 Awards programme the best yet,” says WPA Executive Chairman Steve Young.

There are five categories in the 2021 WPA Awards:

  • Treated Wood Project of the Year
  • Innovation Award
  • Treated Wood Campaign Award
  • Treated Wood Trader of the Year
  • Lifetime Achievement Award

The closing date for nominations is 6 September and the winners will be announced at an awards evening on 22 September at the Village Hotel, Warwickshire.

The nominations will be assessed by a panel of judges that include Sally Spencer, Editor, TTJ Magazine, Ed Suttie, Sustainability Manager, BRE and WPA Chief Executive Gordon Ewbank.

Commenting on the WPA’s plans for an Awards evening in September Gordon Ewbank said: “As the UK continues to emergefrom lockdown, optimism about the future is gaining strength. On 21 June, the government is expected to remove all legal limits on social contact across the UK. This significant milestone for society and the economy has given us the confidence to move ahead with plans to stage our Annual Awards Evening as a live event this year.” The decision to stage a special event to announce the Award winners is being well received by the associations members says Gordon: ‘Initial feedback suggests that our members are welcoming the opportunity to reconnect with their industry colleagues at the WPA Awards evening.”

More about the Award Categories

Project of the Year

This Award is a showcase for timber used in construction or landscaping projects where wood protection technology has been used to enhance performance or meet specific design requirements. Any size project completed in the last 2 years or currently under construction can be nominated. The Award is sponsored by Wolman.


Innovation is the creation of new ideas, new products and new processes. The WPA extends this to include the adoption of new business or marketing methods, developing improved services and solutions that better meet customer needs and how a business and its customers adapt to changing standards of performance, regulatory requirements or market opportunities for wood protection technology. The Award is sponsored by Impra.

Treated Wood Trader of the Year

This Award is all about customer service. Entry is open to any business producing, distributing or selling preservative or flame-retardant pre-treated wood or wood-based panel products in the UK.

The nomination should focus on what differentiates the business from other suppliers and how the company works to retain and build customer loyalty as a key element of its business strategy. The Award is sponsored by Lonza Wood Protection

Treated Wood Campaign Award

In March 2021, the TTF and WPA launched a campaign to grow demand for preservative-treated wood. The focus of the campaign is to raise supply chain and buyer awareness about how to specify treated wood correctly and improve how treated wood products are described in sales and marketing materials.

The campaign foreshadows the move by TTF suppliers of treated wood to adopt third-party quality verification of products by July 2022.

This is a WPA conferred Award and will go to the business that best demonstrates its engagement with the campaign and use of the campaign’s communications and training resources available from the WPA and TTF.

Lifetime Achievement Award

This is a WPA conferred award for individuals who have dedicated more than 25 years to the wood protection industry and are approaching the end of their career or have recently retired.

They may specialise in treatment plant operation, product development, technical support, sales, marketing or general management. Whatever the role of the individuals nominated for this award, their sustained commitment, professionalism and significant contribution to the success of the industry has been exemplary and recognised by colleagues, customers and wood protection industry peers alike.

Call for nominations

Nominations can be made by any organisation – whether a WPA Member or not. For an entry form just get in touch by e-mailing: contact@thewpa.org.uk – the closing date for entries is 6 September.

Fencing News Blog